Leif Erikson Drive Map and Elevation Profile

Saturday morning I ran up and down the entire length of Leif Erikson drive for the first time. Leif Erikson (sometimes spelled Leif Erickson instead) is an 11 mile dirt and gravel road, closed to cars but open to bicycles, that winds through the lower slopes of Forest Park.

Leif Erikson Drive, Portland. Click for larger. Map data from Google, the blue line showing the path is from my GPS.

Leif Erikson Drive, Portland. Click for larger. Map data from Google, the blue line showing the path is from my GPS.

Here’s an approximate elevation profile; mile 0 is the Thurman Street trailhead and mile 11 is Germantown road.

leif-erikson-whole-elevThe run took me about three hours and fifty minutes, which means I averaged around a ten minute per mile pace. My left calf was cramping a bit by the end, and the tendon in the back of my left knee (in the poplitea fossa: the “kneepit”) is still a bit sore today.

2 Responses to Leif Erikson Drive Map and Elevation Profile

  1. Viv1 says:

    Thanks! I was searching online for a good running route around beaverton – this was all the info I needed! :)

  2. Dan says:

    Thanks friend. Now I know which end to enter for a downhill ride. Happy running!
    Dan@lingosuccess.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

