If I were in fifth grade, I would find both “fartleks” and “Butte to Butte” hilarious

I had to run 40 minutes and make Buffalo wings yesterday, all before 6:30, so I took the afternoon off. I did my running up on Terwilliger, parking near the north end and running to the intersection with Capitol Highway and back. That’s mostly uphill on the way out, and downhill back. The idea was to warm up on the way up the hill, then do some fartleks on the way back. (The schedule actually had us doing 14 60-second intervals, but it was too hot and by legs were too sore for me to try it. Plus, I’m trying to ease up a little in preparation for July 4th’s Butte to Butte 10K in Eugene.) Still, I ended up putting quite a bit of effort into the run. My legs didn’t quite fall off, but it was close. I ended up running 5.0 miles in 45:01, which is a pretty good clip for me, considering the hill and the heat.

Then I made the wings, yum, and headed off for the evening’s activities. First a pot-luck dinner party, then karaoke. I didn’t sing, and left pretty early to try to grab a little more sleep. When I got home, I checked my email, and it looks like I’ll be going on my first Match.com date soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

